We are all engaged one way or another

Media coverage is available on mostly all social networking platforms now a days, and it is hard not to be engaged in the news and what is happening in todays world. My Facebook page has news stories in my newsfeed, and my twitter has breaking news tweets from CNN, my local newspaper, as well as a million other followers who tweet news they find relevant as well. I have to admit that the emergence of these new opportunities for sharing journalism have encouraged me to consume more journalism and even mildly participate in it more directly as well. There has been many times where I have shared a particular news story on my Facebook that I find interesting or I feel strongly about, and I have also signed online petitions which have allowed me to directly participate in social activism.

In Hermida’s article Tweets and Truth; he discusses this point and how journalism through social media is beginning to include individuals who are not journalists. A quote I find interesting in Hermida’s article is “twitter has also been adopted as a mechanism for user-generated content, tapped by news organizations for gathering eye witness reports as events unfold in real time” (2012, p. 663). I find that this quote supports the idea that consumers who are not journalists are able to freely become one and twitter allows this to occur by allowing everyone to be involved. Dalgren’s article Reinventing participation: civic agency and the web environment also support this notion and social media allows for  “mutual support, organizing, mobilizing or solidifying identities” (2012, p 27).  Dalgren’s article is important and outlines the importance of citizens all being able to be involved through social media and engage in journalism. Overall I think that the emergence of all these various avenues of social media and journalism allow for people including myself to become more and more engaged and involved in which I think benefits journalists, news organizations, and just as importantly us consumers, because it allows information to be gathered from all angles.

Dahlgren, P. (2012). Reinventing participation: civic agency and the web environment. Geopolitics, History, and International Relations. 4.2, p27.

Hermida, A. (2012). TWEETS AND TRUTH: Journalism as a discipline of collaborative verificationJournalism Practice. 6:5-6, p659-668.

4 thoughts on “We are all engaged one way or another

  1. I think citizen journalism and the Internet has really increased the consumption of news by young people. Before, the paper would come to the door and was mainly read by the adults in the home. Young people are really much more informed on current events than their counterparts in the past. As you stated, technology has increased your desire to read news stories and be involved in news sharing. Are you very selective about what you read online and also what you believe in online stories?

  2. I never actually thought of me as being a social activist or citizen journalist, but now that you mention you’ve signed petitions on causes you believe are important because you saw something on a social network, I have done the same thing. I guess that does make me a social activist –sometimes. I will tweet once in a while if I have a strong opinion on something and have a good amount of knowledge on the topic, and I have signed online petitions. I have also researched issues I never thought I would care about, just because I saw something about it on Twitter. So, i guess that makes me a social activist as well. And even though I am not constantly voicing my opinion on social networking sites, I still follow everything others write, and I get intrigued in what people have to say, what the issues are, and what is going on in the world. I think social networking sites have helped me become more informed, because I don’t always follow along with the news or read the newspaper. It’s my only way of gaining knowledge! So thank you, citizen journalists.

  3. As a user of both Facebook and Twitter I am able to get access to all kinds of news such as sports, politics, justice, health etc from different media outlets as well as my friends. These new opportunities definitely encourage me to participate as a citizen journalist because it seems like everyone these days is contributing somehow with their views and/or opinions on relevant news. However that is not to say that I am frequently posting on Facebook or Twitter all the time, but like you said there has “been times where I have shared a particular news story on my Facebook that I find interesting or I feel strongly about, and I have also signed online petitions which have allowed me to directly participate in social activism.” Also I couldn’t agree more with your comment that the emergence of all these various avenues of social media and journalism allow for everyone to become more and more engaged in the news all over the world.

  4. You are completely right. Media coverage is everywhere. Facebook and Twitter are full of citizen journalism. I actually never thought about signing online petitions as participating in social activism, but now that you mention it, I may actually be more involved with as a citizen on the Web than I had previously thought. The Internet, especially Twitter, encourages us to get involved. Posting statuses and using hashtags allow our ideas to branch out into the bigger world. Not only are journalists from actually newspapers commenting on everyday events, but now we, as citizens, can be involved in this as well.

Leave a Reply

